Federal Universities: the Second Wave
Tags: Universities

An effective work of Southern Federal and Siberian Federal Universities laid the foundations for creation of the whole network of federal universities in Russia. In 2009 President of the Russian Federation Dmitry Medvedev signed a decree ordering the creating of a number of federal universities (FUs): Northern (Arctic) FU, Kazan (Volga Region) FU, the Ural FU, Far Eastern FU and North-Eastern FU. In 2010 Immanuel Kant Baltic FU and only a short time ago (in July 2011) the Northern Caucasus FU came into existence.

Northern (Arctic) Federal University
The activity of Northern (Arctic) Federal University (NArFU) is supposed to promote Russia’s national interests in the Arctic region. NArFU trains professionals for the Northern Sea Route; they are real experts in arctic tourism and logistics. The conception of the federal university has been created with due account for the unique peculiarities of the arctic region and with a special emphasis on the development of maritime and nautical industries as well as gas-and-oil branch. On the base of NArFU the research centre of the University of the Arctic was established. It is an international project uniting various universities, colleges, research institutes and other organizations from circumpolar countries into a single network; the countries being Russia, Norway, Sweden, Finland, Canada, Iceland, Denmark (Greenland) and the USA (Alaska).

Kazan (Volga Region) Federal University
Kazan Volga region Federal University located in the city of Kazan (KFU) is the second oldest functioning uninterruptedly university of the Russian Federation (the first being Lomonosov Moscow State University). It was included into the State Corpus of the most valuable objects of the cultural heritage of the Russian Federation. The university was granted its federal status after merging with Tatar State University of Humanities and Education, Kazan State Finance and Economics Institute, and Elabuga State Pedagogical University. KFU is one of the leaders of international cooperation among Russian higher educational institutions and is listed in Times Higher Education 600 Best World Universities. KFU is one of those few Russian institutions of higher learning participating in «Integration, Interaction and Institutions» (Triple I) programme which is funded in the framework of Erasmus Mundus Programme (Action 2). Almost 12 mlrd. RUB are budgeted for the long-term development programme of KFU.

The Ural Federal University
The Ural Federal University named after the first President of Russia B.N. Yeltsin (UFU), located in the city of Yekaterinburg, was listed among 500 top universities in 2001 QS World University Rankings. According to expert estimations, the university’s 100 points higher rating position was secured by merging of the Ural State Technical University and the Ural State University named after A.M. Gorky into a single educational institution. Among the priorities of UFU are such fields of knowledge as nuclear energy, high technologies in medicine, space systems, supercomputers and information technology, as well as environmental safety technologies. Our regional priorities are nanotechnologies, information technologies, biotechnologies, machine building, rational use of natural resources, efficient use of energy and resources.

Far Eastern Federal University
Far Eastern federal University (FEFU), situated in Vladivostok, is the first and the only classical university so far on the vast territory from the Baikal to the Pacific Ocean. It traces its history from the Eastern Institute – the first higher educational institution in the Far East. Its scientific and educational priorities are the resources of the World Ocean, energy resources and energy saving technologies, nanosystems and nanomaterials industry, transport and logistics complex, comprehensive cooperation with the countries of the Pacific Rim, biomedical technologies. FEFU is the only Russian university having a branch on the territory of Japan accredited by the Japanese government. The university’s campus is located on the legendary Russky island in the Peter the Great Gulf, Sea of Japan.

North-Eastern Federal University
Studying in Ammosov North-Eastern Federal University (NEFU) is closely connected with the problematics of the North, Arctic and its unique natural environment. The top-priority scientific fields are environmental safety maintenance and technologically effective natural resources rehabilitation, rational use of natural resources; the use of scientific capacious technologies and industries in the climatic conditions of the North; preservation and development of the Arctic peoples’ cultural heritage; analytical and personnel support for the development of the Northeastern Russia. The university is working with various companies interested in working out ecologically safe diamonds extraction technologies in the Far North. Particular attention is paid to the development of medicine in the Arctic area and further introduction of genetic diagnosis methods, application of cellular and biotechnologies, study of clinical peculiarities of diseases and genetic diathesis for them of the Northeastern Russia population, as well as the principles of their treatment. The major emphasis is placed on the early diagnosing of diseases.

Immanuel Kant Baltic Federal University
Immanuel Kant Baltic Federal University in the city of Kaliningrad was established on the base of the Russian State Immanuel Kant University. In the university there are 1, 500 of research workers, and about14, 000 of students and post graduates. The university pursues a geopolitical task: it takes an active part in European integration processes; besides, BFU is an outpost of national higher educational system in western Russia. The university’s objective is to adequately represent the national educational system in the world, to provide support for the compatriots in the Baltic States, to act as a keeper of the Russian language and culture within the CIS countries and beyond.

The Northern Caucasus Federal University
The Northern Caucasus Federal University will unite the educational and scientific bases of the three biggest higher educational institutions of the Stavropol Territory: The Northern Caucasus State Technical University, Stavropol State Universityа and Pyatigorsk Technological University. The university will train the most necessary for the economy of the region specialists. Due to the specificity of the area, it has been decided that in the new institution of higher learning the Secular Institute of Islamic History and Cultural Studies should be established, where students belonging to different confessions will be able to learn. According to the decree of President of the Russian Federation Dmitry Medvedev, the first students will be admitted to the university in September 2012/ By the year of 2015 the university will receive 7 mlrd. RUB.